Research Guides: Intellectual Property: Patent Law

Intellectual Property Resources

Practical Guidance: Intellectual Property & Technology
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a one-stop access point for a variety of information on copyright, trademark, and patent law resources. Content includes relevant forms, checklists, and commentary from a variety of respected IP practitioners, including relevant Law 360 articles. Available on Lexis. Username and password required.
Practical Law
Practical Law provides access to the Practical Law Company's online content of patent law resources, including downloadable forms, checklists, and expert commentary and analysis. Practical Law Company is now accessible through Westlaw. Username and password required.
Westlaw Intellectual Property
The Westlaw Intellectual Property page organizes Westlaw's vast array of patent, copyright, trademark, and trade secret materials on one page. Information includes forms, sample clauses, trial briefs, and international materials. Username and password required.

Google Patent Search

Patent law is codified in Title 35 of the United States Code. The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) website provides information on how to begin the patent application process, how to run a patent search, how to check filing status, forms, and more. This site is also where you will go to actually file your patent application.

Check out the Patent Process Overview page for more information.

Patent Law Treatises

The Law Library has both online and print patent law treatises.If you have any questions about accessing or using these items, please contact a reference librarian.

Chisum on Patents
Chisum on Patents is considered the major authority on U.S. patent law. It gives a comprehensive treatment of patentability, validity, examination, and infringement, and includes reprints and commentary on all major primary law sources. Available on Lexis. Username and password required.

Faber on Mechanics of Patent Claim Drafting by Robert C. Faber
Call Number: KF3125.C5 F33 2015
Faber on Mechanics of Patent Claim Drafting spotlights proven claim drafting practices and techniques that have been firmly established by patent authorities and custom.
Moy's Walker on Patents by R. Carl Moy
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Law General Collection KF3114 .W3
Moy's Walker on Patents is a multi-volume set that offers similar coverage to Chisum on Patents, with especially good explanation of procedures, patent examination, and patent law history. Also available on Westlaw. Username and password required.