Research Guides: Intellectual Property: Copyright Law

Intellectual Property Resources

Practical Guidance: Intellectual Property & Technology
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a one-stop access point for a variety of information on copyright, trademark, and patent law resources. Content includes relevant forms, checklists, and commentary from a variety of respected IP practitioners, including relevant Law 360 articles. Available on Lexis. Username and password required.
Practical Law
Practical Law provides access to the Practical Law Company's online content of patent law resources, including downloadable forms, checklists, and expert commentary and analysis. Practical Law Company is now accessible through Westlaw. Username and password required.
Westlaw Intellectual Property
The Westlaw Intellectual Property page organizes Westlaw's vast array of patent, copyright, trademark, and trade secret materials on one page. Information includes forms, sample clauses, trial briefs, and international materials. Username and password required.

Copyright Search

Copyright law is codified in Title 17 of the United States Code. The United States Copyright Office website provides information on how to apply for a copyright, how to search for a copyright, how to copyright various works, including music and art, and more. This site is also where you will go to begin the copyright application process.

For more information about copyright law, check out the United States Copyright Office's brochures and circulars.

Copyright Law Treatises

Copyright Basics
This circular outlines basic copyright information. For more circulars, visit the U.S. Copyright Office.

Copyright and the Public Domain
Copyright and the Public Domain brings much—needed clarity to the question of what is protected by copyright and what is not. In plain language, it explains how and why works of authorship enter the public domain. It provides detailed coverage of: copyright requirements; the duration of copyright; copyright forfeiture and abandonment; the "publication" requirement; non-protectible elements within a copyrighted work; restoration of copyrights to foreign works under GATT; conducting copyright renewal searches; non-copyright restrictions that may protect works in the public domain; and many other important issues. Available on Lexis. Username and password required.
Copyright Litigation Handbook
Includes sample forms, pleadings, motions, checklists, and practice tips, as well as real-life tactics, legal analysis, and primary law. Available on Westlaw. Username and password required.

Nimmer on Copyright by Melville Nimmer & David Nimmer
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Law General Collection KF2991.5 .N5
This eleven volume set forms the most influential and most cited treatise on U.S. copyright law. Covers all subjects directly under U.S. copyright law as well as related issues in state and international law. Also available on Lexis. Username and password required.

Patry on Fair Use
Provides an encyclopedic analysis of copyright, placing court opinions and statutes in their real-world context. In addition to enumerating a complete legislative and statutory history for relevant provisions, on pertinent litigation issues, a circuit-by-circuit breakdown is provided. Available on Westlaw. Username and password required.