Research Guides: Education Law: Special Education

General Information

Below you will find resources about Special Education written for attorneys, educators, and parents.

Treatises and Study Aids

Disabilities and the Law

by Laura Rothstein and Julia Rothstein

This treatise, provides a comprehensive overview of the rights of persons with disabilities in primary, secondary, and higher education. See specifically Chapter 2: Elementary and Secondary Education. Available on Westlaw Edge. Username and password required.

Special Education Law

The book provides a solid background in special education law and is fully up-to-date with the recent recodification of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, the new Department of Education regulations, and the recent case law, including the most recent United States Supreme Court decisions.

Special Education Law and Litigation Treatise

This book is intended to be a comprehensive work that answers the myriad of specific legal questions engendered by special education statutes. The book attempts to give guidance on particular legal questions and to collect and evaluate caselaw and other authoritative materials.

Special Education Law in a Nutshell

This Nutshell presents a very timely overview of legal topics relating to special education services for students in K-12 education. Topics covered include: historical background, Section 504 coverage, IDEA coverage, child find, evaluations, IEPs, disciplinary issues, due process hearings, and state administrative complaints.

Understanding Disability Law

Understanding Disability Law discusses important statutory and constitutional issues relating to disability discrimination. It is designed to help students in Disability Law courses synthesize and apply the materials they are learning.

Other Resources

The Comprehensive Guide to Special Education Law by George A. Giuliani
Call Number: Law Library General Collection KF4210 .G58 2012
The Comprehensive Guide to Special Education Law is a detailed yet accessible introduction to federal law as it applies to the rights of children with special needs. Written in a user-friendly question and answer format, the book covers all of the key areas of special education law including parental rights of participation, the legal right to Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE) and related services, and the complex issues of discipline and dispute resolutions. This book provides educators with knowledge of the requirements, history, and evolution of the laws that impact their daily working lives and gives them the information they need to help parents obtain better services for their children.
The Law of Special Education by Margaret Jasper
Call Number: Law Library General Collection KF4209.3.Z9 J37 2004
In this Law for the Layperson publication, you will find a thorough overview of the most important Acts providing services for disabled children and several directories of useful contact information for every state in the country. Each volume in the series presents an explanation of a specific legal issue in simple, clearly written text, making the Almanac a concise and perfect desktop reference tool. All volumes provide state-by-state coverage. Selected state statutes are included, as are important case law and legislation, charts and tables for comparison.
What Do I Do When- by Susan Gorn
Call Number: Law Library General Collection KF4209.3.Z9 G67 2006
Addressing the latest legal developments and new case law, the updated Second Edition guides you through the IDEA's rigid timelines and procedures in 15 critical compliance areas -- helping you anticipate potential trouble spots and prevent due process complaints. Covering identification, eligibility, parental consent, student discipline and 11 more areas, each chapter provides an at-a-glance summary of critical timelines followed by Q&As deciphering IDEA's technical rules and how judges and hearing officers analyze key issues.

A Parent's Guide to Special Education in North Carolina
The Duke Children’s Law Clinic has produced a comprehensive Guide for parents of children with special education needs. The Guide explains the special education law in clear terms so that parents can learn the vocabulary, navigate the special education system, and become an effective advocate for their children. The Guide is especially geared to assist North Carolina parents.

Special Education Law Bulletin
Special education compliance presents a complex set of legal issues. Special Education Law Bulletin keeps you informed of important developments and helps you deal with issues when they arise. Topics include mainstreaming concerns, classroom management, private schools and special programs, tuition reimbursement, individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) compliance, Individualized Education Programs (IEPs), and discipline issues. Available on Westlaw. Username and password required.
Wrightslaw "The Special Ed Advocate" Newsletter
A free on-line newsletter that addresses legal and advocacy topics in special education.

Special Ed Connection
One of the most popular Special Education resources for educators is Special Ed Connect. This database is tailored specifically for educators with information on cases, practical guidance, and other helpful resources. The Campbell Law Library does not subscribe to this database.