Research Guides: Free Online Legal Research Resources: Federal

U.S. Copyright Fair Use Index
Searchable database of court opinions on fair use, including by category and type of use (e.g., music, internet/digitization, parody).

Congress.gov
A compilation of federal legislative information, including bills, resolutions, public laws, debates, committee reports and the Congressional Record.
Congressional Research Service Reports
Provides access to many of the full-text Congressional Research Services reports that have been available at a variety of different websites since 1990.
govinfo
Official publications from all three branches of the federal government.

Military Legal Resources
Extensive collection of primary source materials and publications in the field of military law.

Administrative Decisions
A compiled list of where to find federal administrative decisions.
e-CFR
Electronic version of the Federal Code of Regulations.
Federal Register
Online version of the Federal Register with links to related material, such as the Code of Federal Regulations and the United States Code.
Regulations.gov
A portal and document repository that allows the public to find, read and participate in the rulemaking processes of some federal government agencies.

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Collection of data related to crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
National Juvenile Court Data Archive
Provides access to automated juvenile court data sets for juvenile justice research and policy making efforts.

Presidential Executive Orders
Compilation of presidential executive orders back to the Clinton administration.
Presidential Executive Orders Disposition Tables Index
Compilation of presidential executive orders from FDR to Obama.
Presidential Proclamations
Compilation of presidential proclamations back to the Clinton administration.