Skip to main content

Remote Reference Services: Resources for Students

Law Library resources to help you with remote research needs.

Follow the library online for more updates Twitter @LawLibCampbell

Law Library Status and Librarian Contact Information

Law Library Status


The Law Library is open only to Campbell Law students, faculty, and staff between 7:00 am - 7:00 pm Mondays through Thursdays, 7:00 am - 5:00 pm on Fridays, and 1:00 pm - 6:00 pm weekends. Your law librarians are available through email and phone. Their information is listed below.

For updated information on opening and closing, see our webpage at http://law.campbell.libcal.com/.

Reference Librarians

Caitlin Swift

(919) 865-5871 |  swiftc@campbell.edu

Adrienne DeWitt

(919) 865-5873 |  dewitt@campbell.edu

Circulation Librarian

Kim Hocking

(919) 865-5874 | hockingk@campbell.edu

 

Follow the Law Library online for the most recent updates.

  @LawLibCampbell

@CampbellLawLibrary

Research Help and Questions

The Law Library is here to help!


We can provide assistance through email, phone, by submitting a reference question online, or scheduling an appointment for a video conference using Blackboard Collaborate on the Law Library's Blackboard Page.

Have a  Research Question? Contact your Reference Librarians by email or phone. Your reference team is monitoring their emails throughout this online period during normal operating hours. Caitlin Swift is available from 7:30 am - 4:00 pm Monday - Friday. Adrienne DeWitt is available from 10:00 am - 6:30 pm Monday through Friday. Questions submitted over the weekend will be answered the following business day. 

Want to set up a virtual meeting for help with a research paper or assignment? Contact a reference librarian via email or phone, and we will set up a virtual reference meeting using Blackboard Collaborate from our Law Library's Blackboard Page.

Questions about renewing a book, interlibrary loans, or general circulation questions? Kim Hocking is available from 8:30 am - 5:00 pm Monday through Friday. Questions received over the weekend will be answered on the next business day.

Campbell Law Databases and Online Resources

Campbell Law Databases A-Z

Databases available off-campus through the proxy server. Campbell Law username and password required.

Campbell University Databases A-Z

Databases available to Campbell Law students, faculty, and staff from the Wiggins Library in Buies Creek. You will need to use the proxy server to access these resources. Campbell Law username and password required.

Campbell University Catalog

Provides links to e-books and electronic resources from both the Law Library and the Wiggins Library.

Law Library's Proxy Server

Questions on how to use the proxy service so you can access our databases off-campus? Check out our How to Access the Proxy Server Online Guide.

Online Access to Casebooks

Some publishers are offering e-book versions of textbooks for a limited time during the COVID-19 outbreak. See below for specific instructions.

VitalSource

VitalSource is providing access to certain titles for a limited time, to Campbell Law faculty and Students. Create an account to see if your casebook is available.

  1. To get started, go to bookshelf.vitalsource.com and log-in or create a Bookshelf account with your Campbell Law email address. VitalSource will not allow access to non-school email addresses (like gmail.com).
  2. Once you create an account, you will receive an email verifying your email address. From there, you can login and click on the “Explore” tab in the upper left corner of the screen. This tab provides access to the freely available e-books until the end of the semester. Please note that at this time, downloads are limited to 7 titles and trial access will expire on Monday, May 25, 2020.

RedShelf

Another option similar to VitalSource is RedShelf. Redshelf has several publishers providing books through May 25 on their platform. Like  VitalSource, they limit students to 7 titles and access expires in late May.

Lexis

Select casebooks may be available in our Lexis Digital Library. Sign in using your Campbell Law username and password and check the title list to see if your casebook has been included.

Online Study Aids

CALI - CALI stands for Computer Assisted Online Instruction. Through CALI, you have access to over 1,000 interactive, computer-based lessons written by faculty members on a variety of law school subjects. If you don't have a CALI account, contact the Law Library's Circulation Desk during business hours.

LexisNexis AudioCaseFiles - LexisNexis Courtroom Cast is the home of AudioCaseFiles, offering downloadable MP3 files of edited judicial opinions, along with full text of the edited opinion, a brief fact summary, and the rule of law. You can browse by subject or casebook or by keyword.

West Academic - West Academic is providing free online access to hundreds of study aids, treatises, and audio lectures to help you succeed in law school for the duration of Spring Semester 2020. You will need to sign up using your Campbell Law credentials. Once you have completed registration, go directly to exchange.westacademic.com and sign in to use the product.

How to Use BlackBoard Collaborate