Skip to main content

Remote Reference Services: Resources for Faculty

Law Library resources to help you with remote research needs.

Follow the library online for more updates Twitter @LawLibCampbell

Law Library Status and Librarian Contact Information

Law Library Status


The Law Library is open only to Campbell Law students, faculty, and staff between 7:00 am - 7:00 pm Mondays through Thursdays, 7:00 am - 5:00 pm on Fridays, and 1:00 pm - 6:00 pm weekends. Your law librarians are available through email and phone. Their information is listed below.

For updated information on opening and closing, see our webpage at http://law.campbell.libcal.com/.

Reference Librarians

Caitlin Swift

(919) 865-5871 |  swiftc@campbell.edu

Adrienne DeWitt

(919) 865-5873 |  dewitt@campbell.edu

Circulation Librarian

Kim Hocking

(919) 865-5874 | hockingk@campbell.edu

 

Follow the Law Library online for the most recent updates.

  @LawLibCampbell

@CampbellLawLibrary

Research Help and Questions

We will continue to provide reference assistance over email, phone, and through the Law Library's Blackboard page's Collaborate video conferencing tool. We are well equipped to continue to provide you the high level of research assistance and support you have come to expect from the Law Library. Please feel free to contact us for help with your research and reference needs. 

Ways we can support your research:

  • Requests for articles, citations, and other material
  • Research projects--small and large
  • Assistance with library resources and databases, including login info
  • Creation of research guides for courses, with content-specific resources
  • Uploading scholarship to Campbell Law's institutional repository
  • Consultation and assisting your research assistants

Books and Non-Digital Material

We will continue to provide access to our Law School print collection. Please contact your library liaison or Kim Hocking if you have a title request. Delivery of books from the Main Campus Wiggins Library and requests for books from other libraries are on hold for the foreseeable future. Once that changes, we will let you know. If you are interested in books or articles you think might be print-only, please still ask! We may be able to either acquire them, or borrow them digitally for you. 

Video Reference

The Law Library will provide video reference, including screensharing for instruction in using digital resources, via Blackboard Collaborate. Contact your library liaison for video reference assistance.

Law Library's Proxy Server

Questions on how to use the proxy service so you can access our databases off-campus? Check out our How to Access the Proxy Server Online Guide.

Faculty Services

For a complete list of Law Library Services, including the Law Library Liaison list, check out our Faculty Services Guide.

Instructions on Using Bb Collaborate

Want to know more about Blackboard Collaborate, such as how to use it on the app? Check out our downloadable powerpoints.

Using Bb Collaboration Video Conferencing

New to online teaching? Check out our instructional materials on how to use Blackboard's Collaborate, Blackboard's video conferencing tool.

Campbell Law Databases and Online Resources

Campbell Law Databases A-Z

Databases available off-campus through the proxy server. Campbell Law username and password required.

Campbell University Databases A-Z

Databases available to Campbell Law students, faculty, and staff from the Wiggins Library in Buies Creek. You will need to use the proxy server to access these resources. Campbell Law username and password required.

Campbell University Catalog

Provides links to e-books and electronic resources from both the Law Library and the Wiggins Library.

Online Access to Casebooks

Some publishers are offering e-book versions of textbooks for a limited time during the COVID-19 outbreak. See below for instructions.

VitalSource

VitalSource is providing access to certain titles for a limited time, to Campbell Law faculty and students. Create an account to see if your casebook is available.

  1. To get started, go to bookshelf.vitalsource.com and log-in or create a Bookshelf account with your Campbell Law email address. VitalSource will not allow access to non-school email addresses (like gmail.com).
  2. Once you create an account, you will receive an email verifying your email address. From there, you can login and click on the “Explore” tab in the upper left corner of the screen. This tab provides access to the freely available e-books until the end of the semester. Please note that at this time, downloads are limited to 7 titles and trial access will expire on Monday, May 25, 2020.

RedShelf

Another option similar to VitalSource is RedShelf. Redshelf has several publishers providing books through May 25 on their platform. Like  VitalSource, they limit students to 7 titles and access expires in late May.

Lexis

Select casebooks may be available in our Lexis Digital Library. Sign in using your Campbell Law username and password and check the title list to see if your casebook has been included.

Online Access to Library E-Books

The Law Library and the Main Campus Wiggins Library subscribe to a number of e-books and online reference materials that can be useful for remote research. The following is a list of online resources you have access to as members of the Law School faculty. Access to these resources off-campus will require use of the Proxy Server. Questions about accessing a resource? Contact your library liaison.

Blackboard Collaborate Creating an Attendence Report

Blackboard Crash Course for Students