Skip to main content

SEAALL 2017

March 30 - April 1, 2017, Raleigh, NC

Friday, March 31

7:00 am - 12:00 pm Registration open
7:00 am - 8:10 am Breakfast (sponsored by Thomson Reuters), Oak Forest Ballroom

8:10 am - 9:10 am
TEDDY Talks
(15-20 minutes each)
Oak Forest Ballroom

  • Real World Steps to Discovery, Carol Collins, University of TN, College of Law Library

    Choosing and implementing a discovery system is a multifaceted process. This session will briefly cover the experience of selecting and implementing a discovery system. The talk will provide helpful criteria for the decision making process.
     
  • Quick and Inexpensive Repairs and Emergency Response for Books, Andrea Davis, Collection Associate, Goodson Law Library, Duke Law School

    Libraries of all kinds deal with damaged books and burst pipes or other emergencies. This quick talk will tell you what can be fixed quickly and at little expense without causing further damage. Also, attendees will learn important cautions regarding adhesives, temperature, and humidity, as well as how to address water damage. Even if you don't deal with major preservation issues, you will likely come across print items which need help. Also, the emergency plan manager may not be around when a pipe bursts over top of an essential series, and staff must be trained in order to minimize the extent of the damage. Physical examples of repairs, supplies, and damaged materials will be presented.
     
  • The View from the Other Side of the Podium: Lessons from a First-Time Teacher, Amelia Landenberger, University of Kentucky

    Teaching for the first time can be a daunting task. Even the best preparation cannot cover all the potential pitfalls for first-time teachers. This “Teddy Talk” will cover some strategies for managing anxiety, managing expectations, and getting the timing right while teaching or training. This program will give a new teacher’s perspective on the struggle to be professional and personable, engaging while still informative, and the challenge of knowing when to say “I don’t know.”

9:20 am - 10:05 am
A Programs

A1: Smooch, Curtsey, or Fist-Bump: Cultural Awareness in Our Day-to-Day Interactions, Liz Johnson, Wake Forest School of Law; Barbara Lentz, Associate Professor of Legal Writing, Wake Forest School of Law

In this presentation, participants will engage in a discussion about different cultures and will be able to learn techniques for maximizing interactions and communication between themselves and people from other cultures. This program would be beneficial for academics that work with international students and scholars, as well as law firm librarians who interact with international colleagues and clients. This program will include both information for the audience to receive and an interactive component where the audience can engage with the information learned.


A2: Goldilocks and the Three Collections: From Just in Case to Just in Time to Just Right, Beth Parker, Becka Rich, and Alison Rosenberg, Nova Southeastern University, Shepard Broad College of Law

Collection development is influenced by many things. In 2016, the Panza Maurer Law Library completed a large-scale deaccessioning project that changed the physical and conceptual landscape of the library. We will share what we learned from this experience, discuss the future of library collections, collection development policies, and collaborative library work. This program will describe the challenges of rebuilding an academic law library collection. Participants will be invited to share their experiences and observations of trends in collection development. We hope to inspire law librarians to see the possibilities to reinvent the library to meet the needs of a changing legal information environment. Join us as we try to answer the question of what makes a law library’s collection “just right.”


A3: The Deconstruction of a Learning Outcome, Jason Sowards, Vanderbilt Law School

ABA Standard 302 states that "a law school shall establish learning outcomes that shall, at a minimum, include competency" in several areas, including legal research. What Standard 302 does not offer, however, are examples of learning outcomes upon which to write our own. With instructional design theory as the backdrop, participants will examine the components of a performance-based learning outcome that will not only be meaningful to learners, but will also be measurable for assessment purposes.

10:05 am - 10:20 am Exhibit break (sponsored by Lexis)

10:20 am - 11:05 am
B Programs

B1: A Tale of Two Tech Courses: Approaches to Teaching Law Practice Technology, Ashley Krenelka Chase, Associate Director of the Law Library, Coordinator of Legal Practice Technology, & Adjunct Professor of Law, Stetson University College of Law; Jennifer L. Behrens, Head of Reference Services and Lecturing Fellow, Duke University School of Law

Since 2012, the ABA and half of the state bar associations have added an explicit ethical duty of technology competence for lawyers. Many law schools have developed or expanded course offerings on Law Practice Technology, in order to help prepare law students to use technology effectively in law practice. This session will outline two very different approaches to teaching similar content: a 2-credit, semester-long seminar at Duke, and a 1-credit, 3-day "boot camp" at Stetson. Speakers will compare and contrast their instructional design, offering tips and tricks for attendees who wish to implement similar courses at their own schools, or develop law practice technology training programs in their libraries.


B2: Mindfulness in the Workplace: Techniques and Applications, Wendy Maines, Librarian Relations Manager, Thomson Reuters (& 500 hour Registered Yoga Teacher with Yoga Alliance)

Feeling stressed? Who doesn't! Maybe that is why Mindfulness is having such a big mainstream impact. Mindfulness practices help us pay attention, on purpose and without being overwhelmed. As library managers and employees, we have a responsibility to be healthy and to promote well-being in the workplace. Mindfulness is an accessible-to-all practice bringing awareness and increased peace, wherever you are. This session will explore the concept of mindfulness, examine several mindfulness techniques, and invite attendees to experience, via guided participation, select techniques including breathwork and simple stretching.


B3: Diving into the RA Pool: Starting and Managing a Student Library Research Assistant Program, Andrew Christensen, Faculty Services Librarian, Washington & Lee University Law Library; Thanh Nguyen, Head of Library Research Services, Georgetown University Law Library; Jason Zarin, Head of Reference, Research & Instructional Services, University of Richmond Law Library

Are you running a student research assistant pool at your library? Or thinking of starting one? Learn about how to create a research assistant pool, best practices for hiring, training, and supervising students, working with faculty, and software tools for assigning tasks and tracking student time.

11:15 am - 12:00 pm
C Programs

C1: Repatriating the Radio Haiti Archive, Craig Breaden, Audiovisual Archivist, Rubenstein Library, Duke University; Laura Wagner, Ph.D., Radio Haiti Project Archivist, Rubenstein Library, Duke University; Anne Burnett (Moderator), Foreign and International Law Librarian, Alexander Campbell King Law Library, University of Georgia School of Law

The Radio Haiti Archive at Duke University houses over 3,500 recordings documenting the on-air life of Haiti’s voice of democracy. From the early 1970s until 2003, Radio Haiti not only reported the news and advocated for the rights of all Haitians, it also celebrated Haiti’s culture and history, and by broadcasting in Creole as well as French, acknowledged and elevated the language common to all Haitians. Radio was a medium of unparalleled influence in twentieth-century Haiti: it enabled people to participate in public discourse, as both listeners and speakers, whether or not they could read and write. The Rubenstein Library at Duke is deeply engaged in digitally “repatriating” the recordings, which represent a significant piece of audio history in a culture steeped in oral tradition, to Haiti in a manner accessible to Haitian people. While the story of the Radio Haiti Archive is in part about processing and digitally preserving a large audio collection to archival standards, this presentation will focus on access and the continuing role that Radio Haiti has to play in Haitian life. Project manager Craig Breaden will discuss the technical challenges and proposed solutions for taking the recordings back to Haiti, while project archivist and Haiti scholar Dr. Laura Wagner will present research done in summer 2016 to address the questions such as: how to package and promote the Radio Haiti audio to make it accessible to Haitians who vary widely in terms of literacy, familiarity with technology, and digital infrastructure, and what methodologies will the processing and digital projects teams need to employ to support bringing Radio Haiti back to Haiti?


C2: The Trouble with Outsourcing, Jason Tubinis, Information Technology Librarian; Zanada Joyner, Research and Instructional Services Librarian, University of Georgia Law Library

Outsourcing is the contracting to external workers functions that would otherwise be performed by library employees. Many libraries have contracts for selected services, from payroll processing, to janitorial services, to library binding, to technical processing. Outsourcing library services is an important managerial decision with implications for both library staff and users. Outsourcing some traditionally in-house library services is a trend that likely will continue as technology and expectations evolve. Without thorough consideration or planning, such transitions can cause considerable difficulty and expense. As librarians, how are we to plan for the inevitability of outsourcing some services, identify those services that should be handled in-house, and anticipate the reassigning and reimagining of library work into the future? Presenters will address the three critical stages of outsourcing: Planning- Work processes and routines examined and quantified, selection of a vendor and productivity goals announced Implementing- Reorganizing workflow, introduction of new routines, and the development of new policies Managing- Quality indicators should be developed so that quality can objectively be assessed.


C3: Data in the Legal Domain from the Information Technology Lens, Wayne Miller, Assistant Dean for Academic Technologies, Duke University School of Law; Miguel Bordo, Media Services Manager - Academic Technologies, Duke University School of Law; Dan Cantrell, Systems Manager - Academic Technologies, Duke University School of Law; Rochelle Newton, User Services Manager - Academic Technologies, Duke University School of Law; Michael Wright, Web Services Manager - Academic Technologies, Duke University School of Law

Our digital footprint generates an enormous amount of data. Data privacy, retention, and storage are becoming increasingly components of the business of doing business. IBM reports each day, society creates 2.5 quintillion bytes of data (that is a lot!). The majority of that data is generated from social media, collaboration (email, mobile technology (phones, wearable technologies, and global positioning systems, and tablets), text, online transactions, automatic teller machines, and many other sources. There is no single privacy, retention, and storage policy across manufacturers and providers. With so much data, cybercrime has increased. Cybercrime has increased exponentially every year since 2005 according to the Bureau of Justice Statistics. While retail is the largest cybercrime target, law is not immune. Law firms have experienced security breaches. The American Bar Association reports one in four law firms with at least 100 attorneys have experienced a breach due to a hacker, website attack, break-in, or lost or stolen computer or smartphone. This presentation will examine data and security from the lens of Information Technology. The goal of this presentation is to summarize best practices to ensure the integrity of the data in the legal domain.

12:00 pm - 1:15 pm Lunch, Oak Forest Ballroom
AALL Executive Board Member Mary Jenkins

1:20 pm - 2:05 pm
D Programs

D1: Deep Dive, Part 1 - An Inspired Classroom or Meeting: Re-Inventing Yourself and Your Approach, Jennifer Mart-Rice, Washington & Lee University School of Law; Alyson Drake, Texas Tech University School of Law; Alexis Fetzer, University of Richmond School of Law; Franklin Runge, University of Kentucky College of Law; Caroline Osborne, Washington and Lee University School of Law

Judging a Book by Its Cover: Your students are passing judgment on you before your class even truly begins. Most frequently, they are judging you based solely on your gender or gender identification, the way in which you carry yourself, and your ability, or inability, to command your classroom. This session will help to provide attendees with things to think about prior to walking in the door, how to best present themselves, how to implement what some may call non-traditional teaching methods and/or roles in a legal research course, and how to overcome these challenges by rising above and dealing with these issues head-on all while being successful. Panelists will discuss their own personal experiences, as well as experiences of colleagues, and how they could have responded more appropriately or prepared themselves ahead of time to avoid, or improve, an already sticky or difficult situation. Some topics that will be explored are: • Managing your personal image when it comes to gender or gender identity. How does one create an equitable environment in which they can proudly represent who they are all while maintaining control and respect in the classroom or meeting? • Perceptions of authority in the classroom and how to communicate the correct, or desired, message. As a professor, you need to consider not only how you prepare your teaching materials for each class session, but also how you prepare yourself. What is the role you are trying to fill: friend, mentor, professor, etc.? In this desired role, how much authority do you really have? How do you respond to their perceptions and, if incorrect, how do you change their perceptions without becoming the “mean professor?” • The idea of implementing what may be seen as non-traditional teaching methods in a legal research course to create a “flipped classroom on steroids.” Is it possible to use the Socratic method outside of doctrinal courses? How can one change up what has been seen as the “traditional” legal research classroom to create a more dynamic, innovative environment? Will this bring more legitimacy to legal research as a course when students start to compare it with their other substantive courses? For example, the Socratic method and how it can be used outside of doctrinal courses, changing up the “traditional” legal research classroom, etc.


D2: You Can Fit in Anywhere! Skills Portability in the Law Library World, Rachel Purcell, Information Management Librarian, University of Florida Levin College of Law Legal Information Center (former law firm librarian to academic librarian); Sarah Lewis, Reference Librarian, University of Florida Levin College of Law Legal Information Center (former practicing attorney to academic librarian); Suzanne Corriell, Acting Circuit Librarian, 4th Circuit Court of Appeals (former academic librarian to court librarian); Francis Norton, Research Librarian/Government Documents Librarian, Louisiana Supreme Court Library (former academic librarian to court librarian)

Law librarians will typically choose one type of library environment (court, firm, or academic) and remain in it throughout their whole career. The apprehension of the unknown concerning what type of skills and responsibilities are required in a new library environment may prevent a librarian from wanting to branch out. However, it is beneficial to keep an open mind regarding various library types in order to create more career advancement opportunities for yourself. As former law firm professionals turned recent newcomers to the academic library field, Rachel Purcell and Sarah Lewis know firsthand about the anticipation and worries surrounding a transition from one library type to another. Along with an academic law librarian turned court librarian speaker, they will share insights on what expertise and qualities are needed to successfully cross over from one environment to another. The speakers will discuss various topics such as how to transfer practical skills and knowledge from a law firm to a classroom setting, how to move from working independently to working with a team, replicating free resource instruction sessions for attorneys to cater to students and public patrons, how to utilize your interpersonal skills from an academic library to a court library, and more. Attendees will learn about how to gain the confidence to not limit themselves to one silo but instead to make oneself more appealing to different potential employers, regardless of library type.


D3: An Old Fashioned Cookie Swap - Of Research Scenarios, T.J. Striepe & Maureen Cahill (UGA), Facilitators

Borrowing the form of an old fashioned cookie swap, this program will allow participants to share and appraise research scenarios from graded assignments and the related learning objectives. Each participant will be expected to arrive with at least one research scenario they have used in a graded assessment and the learning objectives that the scenario was designed to demonstrate (we will ask that everyone bring 10 copies of their example - to share with the table and with the facilitators). At tables of six to eight, small groups will share, discuss and evaluate the strengths and weaknesses of the scenarios each member of the table has provided. The facilitators will prep prospective participants, provide seed questions for the small groups and (time permitting) organize a presentation by each table of one or two of their most interesting and effective examples. If there is a mechanism for early identification of participants, the facilitators also will establish a pre-meeting dropbox so that examples can be shared in advance. Post meeting we will find a venue to share all of the examples with anyone who is interested.

2:15 pm - 3:00 pm
E Programs

E1: Deep Dive, Part 2 - An Inspired Classroom or Meeting: Re-Inventing Yourself and Your Approach, Jennifer Mart-Rice, Washington & Lee University School of Law; Alyson Drake, Texas Tech University School of Law; Alexis Fetzer, University of Richmond School of Law; Franklin Runge, University of Kentucky College of Law; Caroline Osborne, Washington and Lee University School of Law

Tending to Your Flock: Dealing with students and keeping them on track is not always the easiest of tasks. Oftentimes, you have to deal with angry, sad, frustrated, or floundering personalities with little to no “training.” This portion of the session will explore the following areas of concern that many faculty face: • Keeping your class/presentation on track with, or without, a PowerPoint or textbook. Is it necessary to have an “official” PowerPoint presentation or an “official” textbook or are you simply using them as a crutch or comfort item? What type of message are you communicating if you choose to not have these items? Does the lack of presentation or textbook make you appear unprofessional or ill-prepared? How may an individual overcome that perception while standing firm on their decision to utilize, or not utilize, these items? • Grading tips and tricks from some experienced instructors. What types of assessment exist and how do you communicate with an angry individual who disagrees with your methodology? Answer that big question everyone wants to know: How do I stand behind the grade/methodology that I have assigned without being the “nasty, unforgiving professor?” • Saving the “lost sheep” who seem to be floundering in class. Not always are those who appear to be “lost” actually lost. Sometimes students are simply seeking someone to hold their hand, or cater to them, along the way and it is up to you, as the professor, to draw the line in regards to their neediness. How much hand-holding is too much? What are the pitfalls, and benefits, to helping them along the way? However, there are also those instances in which students are actually floundering and need a hand. You also need to learn how to identify the difference and how much effort to expend before you call in reinforcements. Is this a classroom problem or a personal problem and is there a difference? Who is it that you should be reaching out to? Are there ways in which you can join efforts with others to help support these particular students?


E2: Beyond Bathrooms: Legal Issues Facing the LGBT Community, Nichelle Perry, NCCU Law Library Director and Professor; Lydia Lavelle, NCCU School of Law. Mayor of Carrboro, NC. First openly lesbian mayor in the State of North Carolina. Author of Sexual Identity Law in Context: Cases and Materials.

The passage of North Carolina HB2, requiring people to use public bathrooms or changing rooms corresponding to the gender listed on their birth certificate, revoking North Carolinians’ ability to bring employment discrimination claims in state courts and barring municipalities from passing their own nondiscrimination ordinances has brought much negative attention to the state. However, more than ever before, people are also talking and learning about gender identity issues and focusing on issues which regularly effect persons in this community. This program will provide an overview some of the legal issues facing the LGBT community such as: 1) Anti-discrimination laws related to employment, harassment and public accommodations; 2) Family Law matters related to marriage, adoption and domestic violence; and 3) Student right laws related to harassment and discrimination at school as well as other rights of public school students.


E3: A Librarian's Role in Institutional Assessment, Jennifer Wondracek, Director of Legal Educational Technology, UNT Dallas College of Law; Carol Watson, Director of the Law Library, University of Georgia

ABA standards 314 and 315 require law schools to track learning outcomes, have multiple assessments, and report back on the results. Law schools are struggling with how to achieve this comply with the new ABA assessment requirement and are often turning to exam software and consultants. Much of the meat of the standards really boils down to information organization. For instance, associating rubrics and assessments with learning outcomes can really be seen as taxonomies. Creating assessments moves beyond data entry when things like tagging questions and overall assessments with learning outcomes come into play. In fact, it starts to look very similar to cataloging. Tracking assessment results requires database implementation and maintenance skills. The law librarians are legal information and data organization experts. Providing data support is a way for the law library to integrate more with the school, and perhaps a way to save some cataloging positions in the process. Let's have a conversation about how law libraries can work more closely with the administration to meet the new ABA assessment standards.

3:00 pm - 3:15 pm Exhibit break (sponsored by West Academic)

3:15 pm - 4:00 pm
F Programs

F1: Organize, Post, Brand & Market: 4 Key Essentials in Faculty Scholarship Services, Alexis Fetzer, Reference & Research Services Librarian, University of Richmond Law Library; Amy O'Connor, Digital Resources Librarian, University of Richmond Law Library

Maintaining and marketing faculty scholarship is a valued library service offered by many law school libraries, but the process of tracking scholarship and securing rights to repost material can be difficult tasks. This program will tell the story of how the University of Richmond Law Library streamlined the task for tracking faculty scholarship listings and thereby was able to improve current procedures and add new library services. For several years, the task of tracking faculty scholarship at the University of Richmond was done by multiple parties throughout the law school for different purposes. In the summer of 2016, this process was streamlined using a single online form, proposed and designed by the library. With the support and push of the administration, the law faculty have been successfully alerting the library to their new publications. The form has allowed the library to explore offering new services such as posting to SSRN on behalf of faculty. It has also allowed the library to improve upon services that already exist such as posting to the UR Scholarship Repository and marketing faculty scholarship. This program will highlight ways in which to improve upon faculty scholarship marketing services as well as explore many of the challenges faced.


F2: Website Usability: Best Practices for Conducting Surveys and Analyzing Results, Eliza Fink, Digital Resources and Services Librarian, University of Tennessee College of Law

Maintaining a website for your library is a daunting task and it's not always easy to determine what parts of a site are working and what parts are not. Website Usability surveys, when performed effectively, can help both librarians and patrons take advantage of your website and all the services it offers. Libraries with a wide variety of budgets can perform usability surveys with varying degrees of complexity. Having recently collaborated with the University of Tennessee Communication & Information Studies department for a comprehensive law library website survey, I will bring my experiences to the conference and synthesize them in a "best (and worst) practices" format. The end of the program will allow for discussion among participants so that they too can share tips and tricks for successful surveys.


F3: How Do the New Legal Research Disruptors Impact Your Work, William E. Magee, Regent University Law Library

2013 may have marked a beginning in a paradigm shift in how legal research is done. Research start-ups such as Casetext and Ravel want to replace Lexis and Westlaw as the primary platform for finding legal information. This program will address this possibility and demonstrate what some of these legal research disruptors offer.

4:10 pm - 5:10 pm
TEDDY Talks
(15-20 minutes each)
Oak Forest Ballroom

  • Archives, Alumni, and Access, Della H. Darby and Rebecca M. Hutto, Beeson Law Library, Cumberland School of Law, Samford University

    Cumberland School of Law was established in October 1847 in Lebanon, Tennessee and moved in 1961 to Howard College, now Samford University, in Birmingham, Alabama. Surviving student records, catalogs, and composites accompanied the law school in this move. The law library and the alumni office often receive requests from descendants about Cumberland alumni. Due to the fragmented nature of the available archival materials, it can be challenging to respond to these requests. This program will describe the law library's project to consolidate and organize student/alumni data. It will include the creation of metadata using free or low-cost student labor; the conversion of spreadsheet data into MARC records; and our approach to presenting the results to the public.

     
  • Where the Rubric Meets the Road: Assessing Legal Research and Writing Competency Across the Curriculum, Marie Summerlin Hamm, Regent University School of Law

    The ABA is coming and law school administrators are moving beyond learning the language of assessment to actual implementation. How can law librarians and LRW faculty become an invaluable part of this process at their institution? This session with explore how legal research and writing competencies were identified, expressed, and assessed throughout the curriculum at one law school.


  • The Impact of the LexisNexis Risk Management v. N.C. A.O.C. Decision on Policy Researchers, Liz Johnson, Wake Forest University

    This talk will explore the history and the impact of the LexisNexis Risk Management v. North Carolina A.O.C. decision upon access to public records. Additionally, it will explore how the court construed the public records law to define and apply to database management and inquiries generated by custodians of that information.
5:15 pm - 6:15 pm SEAALL Executive Board Meeting, Governor's I
6:30 pm Dine-Arounds